Bully (Fall Away 1) by Penelope Douglas BOOK REVIEW

Bully (Fall Away, #1)

Book Title: Bully
Series: Fall Away 1
Genre: New Adult
Author: Penelope Douglas
Pages: 333 pages
Published: February 2014
Purchase @ AMAZONKoboGPlay

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all. No, he’ll barely even speak to me.

But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went to France for a year, just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way in hell I’ll allow him to ruin my senior year. He might not have changed, but I have. It’s time to fight back.

I’m not going to let him bully me anymore.

***This novel contains adult/mature young adult situations. It is only suitable for ages 18+ due to language, violence, and sexual situations.


My Review


The first book in the Series and I am already hooked. Jared and Tate are like one of my favorite Characters ever made. All the angst and build up tension in the book made it more and more exciting. Literally one of the stories I will never forget! I actually felt every pain Tate felt every time Jared bullies her. Especially when he verbally bullies her.

I decided to expand and take a new route for the books I’m reading and looked for potential books that would leave me wanting, then Bully spotted me. It captured every interest I have left when I started reading it. Jared’s history and his used to be relationship with Tate was all too suddenly cut off, according to Tate. As I progressed with the book every character became more palpable. I have no idea if this kind of bullying being done is really happening but all I could comment is that, Jared’s way of bullying Tate was extreme.

Tate is smart and she’s excellent in school but she’s not really on the social side since every time she’s seen in public Jared is also there to bully her. Jared was a little more on the hard side for me. It took me a while to get to know his character well. In the end I asked myself if I could love the guy who bullied me and my answer was a definite NO but in Tate’s situation, I don’t know if it’s because she’s grown attached to Jared’s constant attention or she’s holding on to what they used to be that was why she was in to him.

I was proud of Tate for standing up to Jared. She has finally decided to be brave after years of putting up to Jared’s unreasonable anger towards her. Jared is, therefore, unreasonable. I could not understand his character at first, he was like a puzzle. I was anxious to know Jared’s reasons. Jared was always on the edge and he was like a bomb ticking and he explodes whenever he sees Tate (Literally). The used to be inseparable duo now could not contain being around each other without the other blowing up. I don’t know if it’s because of their hate or if Jared was just bored or if it’s because they are seeing each other in a new Light. Say for example, Jared’s developing feelings towards Tate.

This book is on the borderline of YA & NA. The scenes weren’t that explicit but the sexual tension is obvious. Penelope wrote an excellent book for young readers. If you are one of those readers who loves reading books on the edge and enjoys the high school scene with a strip of adult, then this book will totally be for you. If the tension wouldn’t attract you, the angst will.

More About the Author

Penelope Douglas PENELOPE DOUGLAS

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author living in Las Vegas with her husband and daughter. Her books include the Fall Away series (Bully, Until You, Rival, Falling Away, and Aflame). Please look for the new standalone, contemporary romance, Misconduct, Dec. 1, 2015.

Stalk for News:
Website ♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Pinterest ♥ Tsu ♥ Amazon ♥

Leave a Reply

