Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry ARC REVIEW

Delayed Penalty (Pilots Hockey, #1)

Book Title: Delayed Penalty
Series: Pilots Hockey 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Author: Sophia Henry
Pages: 266 pages
Published: September 1st 2015
Purchase @ AMAZON| B&N| iBooks

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.


My Review


Note: This ARC was given for an honest review

I’m very much surprised I finished the whole book with no skips but I was definitely tempted. Very tempted to skip just because. I was very excited to read this book and it was sad that it did fulfill my expectations.

The storyline actually got me and it was kind of in the middle of okay and good. Okay because the characters actually come together as I expected and Good because I followed through it and where the story started as boring it became less and less a few chapters later.

The problem I have is with the characters and I hate it when I have problems with the characters. I do not like it because they are my emotions, my feelings, my everything in the book and the moment I feel unconnected them is the exact moment I decide the book is not for me. I mean, was this pair suppose to be a bomb or something? because it was not bomb for me and that’s the.. *sigh*.. that’s the thing. I was not feeling it, I was not feeling them. If you actually read through the whole book you can say the plot is good and it’s really worth your time but if there is a character mess, I’m pretty sure the whole book wouldn’t work out.

More About the Author

Sophia HenrySOPHIA HENRY

Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to the warmth of North Carolina for the remainder of her winters.

Sophia spends her days chasing after her two, high-energy sons and writing books featuring hot, hockey-playing heroes. When she’s not chasing her awesome kids or tapping away at her laptop, she enjoys reading, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings and rocking out at concerts with her husband.

Leave a Reply

